Freed from Self

I am not really known as an animal lover, but I can totally empathize with this doggy mom.  Motherhood is a great privelage, but a weighty one at times.  In the next 7 weeks, we will be renovating a house, moving, changing jobs, and having our 6th child, which if born prior to Aug 14 will mean 4 kids 2 and under.  My constant temptation is to think that being pregnant is the problem.  I think, “if I just had my able body back…”  But that is a lie that my back-stabbing friend, Self-Pity, likes to tell me.

A blog post: Motherhood Is a Calling by Rachel Jankovic, a favorite author of mine, was floating around facebook today that was a timely encouragment to me.  She reminded me that by the Lord’s unmeasurable mercy, I am a free woman, able to lay down my own life for others because another, Jesus, has laid His life down for me.  I am not a slave, bound to my self anymore.  I am freely bound to Christ, whose glory is my joy.  Her excellent post, that has broken my two month blogging hiatus, (hint: take the time to read it) ends with the encouragment,  “Stop clinging to yourself and cling to the cross. There is more joy and more life and more laughter on the other side of death than you can possibly carry alone.” Amen.

1 Comment

Filed under Comforts and Calls, Family, Thoughts

One response to “Freed from Self

  1. Thank you so much for the link. As usual your blog has encouraged and uplifted me today. Thanks.

What do you think?

